Home > About Government Publications

About Government Publications

The Government Publications Department houses both current and historical collections of government documents in UCT Libraries. The collection includes census, legislation, parliamentary, planning, policy, public finance and statistical documents.

About Government Resources
They are important sources of primary information. Cover all subjects (from agriculture to zoology). Can be in any format (from book to DVD). Can be historical or very current (from 1800 Cape gazettes to this week’s Government gazettes on-line). Are publications and documents that originate in government. Are usually not books explaining politics or public administration. Are not publications by political parties or NGOs.

They are issued at different levels of Government:

  • International governmental organizations
  • National government agencies
  • Provincial state government agencies
  • Local/metropolitan government agencies
  • Public entities

They are issued by the three branches of government:
Executive, Legislative and Judicial.

Our Collection
This Department has the main collection of government publications in UCT Libraries. There are government publications in other sections of UCT Libraries.

We have publications issued by South African government departments and agencies and public entities.

We have documents issued by the Executive and Legislative branches of
government. The Law Library has documents issued by the Judicial Branch of government.

For South Africa we collect national government publications, selected provincial (mostly Western Cape) and selected local (mostly City of Cape Town) government publications.

Our collection covers official documents from Africa, focusing primarily on southern Africa, particularly South Africa’s neighbouring states. We have recent material for other African countries, including the French-speaking countries.

Our South African collection includes Colonial publications: good holdings for the Cape of Good Hope and fair holdings for Natal, Orange Free State and Transvaal.

Our South African collection includes sets of basic 1910-1994 Provincial publications for the Cape of Good Hope, Natal, Orange Free State and Transvaal. We also have quite good holdings for the Homelands: Bophuthatswana,Ciskei, Gazankulu, KaNgwane, KwaNdebele, KwaZulu, Lebowa, Qwaqwa,Transkei and Venda.

We have the British Command paper series up to 1990, and selected British publications thereafter.

We have recent publications of several international governmental organizations. IGO publications are distributed throughout UCT Libraries.